Prayers for Everyday

by Rev. Carlee Hallman

NOW A COLD

Leave a comment

Ah, Lord, now I am down
with a cold. It came on
yesterday afternoon
and kept me up much of the night,
until I finally took an aspirin.
Yesterday afternoon
I cancelled my appointment for this morning
to be tested for new hearing aids
and my attendance at a poetry reading
in the afternoon.
How grateful I am
to be able to cancel,
since I am not in charge.
I look forward to preaching Sunday
with plenty of time
to prepare for it.
Your presence pulls us through.
Thank you, Lord, for being with us.

Matthew 8:14-15:
When Jesus entered Peter’s house, he saw his mother-in-law lying in bed with a fever; he touched her hand, and the fever left her, and she got up and began to serve them.

Leave a Reply

