Prayers for Everyday

by Rev. Carlee Hallman

MISSING LINK

Leave a comment

Dear Lord, a man with a mustache
patted me on the shoulder
and asked, “Remember me?”
I drew back in surprise.
“We worked together
on a picture book,” he continued.
I thought of various times I have worked
with children’s books.
He must have seen my lack of recognition.
“It was in the church,” he said
and hurried off..
Then I realized he meant
the church directory,
but it was too late.
I could have said, “I’m glad to see you.”
even if I couldn’t remember him.
That would have been the truth.
It’s embarrassing, Lord,
when the links of memory fail.
I am grateful, Lord, that you remember
each of us by name.

Luke 10:20:
“Nevertheless, do not rejoice at this, that the spirits submit to you, but rejoice that your names are written in heaven.”

John 10:2-3:
“The one who enters by the gate is the shepherd of the sheep. The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep hear his voice. He calls his own sheep my name and leads them out.”

Leave a Reply

