Prayers for Everyday

by Rev. Carlee Hallman

YOUR LIGHT

Leave a comment

The sun comes up, and we know it is day.
We can see things that were hidden in the dark.
Light is a metaphor for mental comprehension:
When we understand something,
we are said to be “enlightened.”
We say that you are the light of the world, Lord,
Light is a wonderful experience, Lord.
when we grasp the significance of your
coming to earth and the difference
it makes in our lives.
Open our eyes to your light, O Lord.

John 8:12:
Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness but will have the light of life.”

John 12:44-46:
Then Jesus cried aloud: “Whoever believes in me believes not in me but in him who sent me. And whoever sees me sees him who sent me. I have come as light into the world, so that everyone who believes in me should not remain in darkness.”

Hymn: Christ Is the World’s Light

Leave a Reply

