Prayers for Everyday

by Rev. Carlee Hallman

FOOT WASHING

Leave a comment

Lord Jesus, you gave a lesson in humility
when you washed your disciples’ feet.
Some churches include foot washing
with their celebration of communion.
When we tried it in our church,
I was surprised at how vulnerable
it made me feel. In our country
our feet are usually protected by shoes.
Being a servant is not our
usual aspiration for greatness.
Lord Jesus, help me to be humble
and follow you in service to others. Amen.

John 13:5:
Then he poured water into a basin and began to wash the disciples’ feet and to wipe them with the towel that was tied around him.

John 13:12-15:
After he had washed their feet, had put on his robe, and had returned to the table, he said to them, “Do you know what I have done to you? You call me Teacher and Lord—and you are right, for that is what I am. So if I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet. For I have set you an example, that you also should do as I have done to you.”

Hymn: Jesu, Jesu

Leave a Reply

